☰ Menu

Faculty of Social Sciences

Department of Economics

The department of economics of ICFAI University was started as a sub-department under the Department of Management in 2007 with only one faculty member Rangalal Mohapatra. With the introduction of BA Honours programme, the Department became a fully-fledged department since June 2013. Since then, the department of Economics has been functioning with great success rate. In July 2020, the department introduced PG programme. At present the following faculty members are serving under the department of Economics.

  • Mr Sumanta Kumar Mahapatra (Academic Coordinator)
  • Miss Aosenla Pongen (Head of the Department)
  • Mrs Imnasangla Ao
  • Miss Odimenla Jamir

Department of History

The Department of History at ICFAI University had its inception in July 2013. The Department is committed to providing excellence in teaching and research. It is student focused and led by committed and creative academicians. Throughout the course of their studies, students will be introduced to different approaches and methods of history to help them evaluate and interpret the past. Innovative teaching methods and student-led projects ensure students to be motivated by the discipline they are learning, and help them carry their own research in the future. The Department offers history as one of the elective papers in the Undergraduate programme and has integrated CBCS (Choice Base Credit System) and offers two courses in the B.A. (semester 4&5). The Department also offers M.A. programme in history.

The M.A. History Programme is designed to impart a comprehensive and analytical understanding of history of India and world history to students. The Department offers variety of challenging courses to equip students with the knowledge of the nature and purpose of history, historiography, historical methods, gender in history, military history. Other recent trends and themes in history such as Dalit studies and environmental history will be taught. It also offers courses in archival studies, archaeology and museology. Seminars, lectures and field trips are organised to further enrich the students with the knowledge of history.

The faculty of the Department have actively published their works, participated in Faculty Development Programme, and presented papers on national and international platforms.

The Department at Present has two teaching faculty listed below:
1. Dr. Resenmenla Longchar, M.A, M.Phil, Ph.D, NET.
2. Dr. Khrienuo, M.A, M.Phil, PH.D

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established in the month of July, 2013 with Undergraduate Courses in Bachelor of Arts (General & Honours). The first batch of BA & BA Honors will graduate in July 2016. Three Batches of BA 2013-2016, 2014-2017 & 2015-2018 (General & Honours) are pursuing their courses. The in-take of students for Honors class is 40.

Since August 2014, the Department has started a Two-Year Master's Program. The Department will also have its first batch of Post-Graduates in August 2016. At present, the Department has two batches of MA pursuing the courses. The in-take of students for MA class is 60.


Department of Economics and Quantitative Methods of ICFAI University Nagaland was started as sub-department under the department of Management in 2007 with only one faculty member Rangalal Mohapatra when only BBA course was offered.


Faculty of Social Sciences Faculty of Social Sciences

Contact Us

Phone Number

+91 - 94365 - 31165

Our Location

The ICFAI University, Nagaland 6th Mile, Sovima Village, Dimapur, Nagaland - 797112.